Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Chembappam (ചേമ്പപ്പം) !! (A cute & simple evening snack from Kerala)

Here I am with a some what lost taste of mine.It was in my memories always.Believe me,as a kid I was a total admirer of this snack.But somehow as I grow up and we shifted from the place where we lived,I missed it somewhere.During ‘silly sessions’ with my lill’ daughter now,I always share such simple sort of happiness,delight and thrill I had about anything as a kid to her.She can catch it often since she is a kid too.And coming to this recipe,we were having the usual stories of my childhood and suddenly the term ‘chembappam’ came to me.Ha,then I started recollecting a lost taste for days now.To cut short,finally I am here with the simple recipe after having several cute sessions in my kitchen.

Ingredients

1 cup rice flour (smooth like that for Idiyappam & appam)
1 egg
1 pinch baking soda
1/4 cup medium thick coconut milk or water (coconut milk will enhance the taste)
4 tsp sugar (can add more if you want)
Oil (coconut oil will be the best)

Method

Take the rice powder and mix well with the egg.Now slowly add the coconut milk or water till it become a thick,dropping consistancy.Add sugar & baking soda and mix once more.Heat coconut oil in a skillet and drop small portions of batter .Use your hand.That’s the best option.Cook in medium heat .Turn them over and cook when one side is brown.Shift to paper towels when done.

11 comments on “Chembappam (ചേമ്പപ്പം) !! (A cute & simple evening snack from Kerala)

  1. Prathibha
    May 10, 2011

    lovely interesting snack..loooks yumm

    Like

  2. wow, very new snack, love the idea 🙂

    Like

  3. Priya
    May 10, 2011

    Feel like munching some appams,yummy..

    Like

  4. Swathi
    May 10, 2011

    Chembappam adipoli. amma undaku mayrinnu.

    Like

  5. Sobha Shyam
    May 10, 2011

    nice snack..dnt rem if I had these..but loved the recipe..:)

    Like

  6. aipi
    May 11, 2011

    It is amazing how that works ~ time n responsibility takes a toll on these little pleasure but we should always take the time ~ beautiful touching write up.
    This snack reminds me of gulgula , my mom used to make these for our evening snack sometimes which I have not had in ages. Thanks for the reminder 🙂
    US Masala

    Like

  7. Now Serving
    May 11, 2011

    These are yummy appams. Childhood memories of taste linger far longer than we realize, no? I do flash back a lot!

    Like

  8. Suja
    May 11, 2011

    Sounds yummy snack,new to me..thanks for sharing dear.

    Like

  9. Muraligeetham
    May 11, 2011

    looks so tasty !

    Like

  10. Hamaree Rasoi
    May 12, 2011

    Nice snack actually it's new for me….

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

    Like

  11. kitchenmorph
    May 12, 2011

    hi thnx for stopping by!

    you shd tell me your name; calling you melange feels odd ;P

    i really thought this had chembu in it which is available plentiful in our backyard in Kerala!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2011 by in kerala food, Snacks.

Categories

