Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Badshahi Naan !! (Deep fried flour bread from Delhi)

Badshahi Naan marks my entry to  Blogging Marathon #6 at Srivalli’s.For this first time ever running,I have opted for the regional flavours of India.To be precise,  is going to display Delhi specialities for the coming seven days.
In fact,I wanted to recall or bring back my Delhi days here,to tell you how I devoured the awesome flavours of our capital city ! Delhi food I must say,is a perfect blend of many cultures & regions.The invaders,natives,peasants,traders,amirs,all have contributed in their own special way to refine or define the so called ‘Delhi Cuisine’ of today.As usual, there were many timely inventions like ‘chaat’ which I may describe later here.
Today,I have come up with a bread,I mean a royal one for you.Badshahi Naan..A bread that carries it’s royal origin ! Well,It’s an awesome bread doing justice to the name I bet ! Here comes the recipe..

Ingredients

5 cups All purpose flour/maida
1tsp sugar
1 tsp yeast (depends on the variety you are using)
1/2 cup lukewarm water
1 egg beaten
10 gm butter
1/2 cup warm milk
1/2 tsp kalonji (onion seeds)
salt
oil/ghee to deep fry


Method

Combine the yeast,water and sugar.Keep closed in a warm place to rise.This may take 10 minutes.In a bowl,sift the flour and salt.Mix in the butter with your hand till it becomes crumbly.To this,add warm milk,beaten egg and yeast mixture.Mix well with your hand to form a ball.Slowly knead it to a soft ,elastic dough.If it’s too tight,you may wet your hands in milk and continue kneading.

Cover the dough with a wet cloth and keep in a warm place to rise.That’s till the dough rises to double the volume.I just keep it inside the the oven with light on.This only took 12 minutes.But here two things are important.The quality of yeast you use and the temperature it is resting in.

Now when it’s doubled,knead again and divide it into 8 balls.Roll out into a 3/4′ thick disc.Arrange them in a greased tray and sprinkle the onion seeds over.

Keep it again till they double in size.Heat oil/ghee in a wok/kadai and deep fry the naans till golden brown.Shift it into paper towels.Serve hot with any curry.

If you are curious to know about the other foodies running the marathon and what they are offering with,do visit Blogging Marathon Page .

27 comments on “Badshahi Naan !! (Deep fried flour bread from Delhi)

  1. Radhika
    June 16, 2011

    Naan sprinkled generously with kalonji Omg looks awesome.

    Like

  2. jayasree
    June 16, 2011

    First time on your blog. Thanks to BM. This is something new to me. Sounds delicious. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Like

  3. Jayashree
    June 16, 2011

    Wow…..nice, thick naans.

    Like

  4. Mom Chef
    June 16, 2011

    wow 🙂 nice & interesting dish !! Is there an eggless version too Dhyuthi??

    Like

  5. Aarthi
    June 16, 2011

    This looks so yummy and delicious..Will try this soon..Seems really simple..thanks for the recipe dear..Post more and keep blogging

    Like

  6. Mélange
    June 16, 2011

    Thanks Radhika,Jayasree,Jayashree.Momshef & Aarthi.

    @mom shef,I think without egg may be little rough.Lemme see will try with other options and let you know.

    Like

  7. garlutti
    June 16, 2011

    Hello .. is my first visit I follow you …. I love sharing recipes and photos .. I like yours, I invite you to share my recipes and blog … greetings from SPAIN VIGO Marimi

    Like

  8. Reva
    June 16, 2011

    That is awesome.. I can't wait to c your other delicious recipes for the marathon.. Dishes from Delhi !! very tempting:)
    Reva

    Like

  9. Vardhini
    June 16, 2011
  10. Srivalli
    June 16, 2011

    Dhyuthi, I am sure we are going to enjoy your series, can't wait to see the rest!..naan looks so good..as Kalyani asked is there an eggless version?

    Like

  11. Umm Mymoonah
    June 16, 2011

    The name itself sounds too good. Love this fried version of naan.

    Like

  12. Priya
    June 16, 2011

    Delhi cuisine is not that much familiar for me, glad to learn through this BM from u, deep fried naans looks amazing and fabulous..

    Like

  13. Sin-A-Mon (Monika)
    June 16, 2011

    my mum used to make this, however I have never tried.. I usually shy away from fried food 😦 but this looks yumm enough

    I am from delhi too, been born and brought up there, the next week I think is going to be a week full of nostalgia for me

    Like

  14. cook from doha
    June 16, 2011

    wow…….waiting for all your treats from delhi………we make batooras the same way……..

    Like

  15. harini-jaya
    June 16, 2011

    I am surely looking forward to all the Delhi dishes. This surely looks interesting. I wish there were an eggless version!!

    Like

  16. Usha
    June 16, 2011

    Looking forward to more recipe from delhi.. Badshahi naan is new to me

    Like

  17. Suja
    June 16, 2011

    Looking forward for more Delhi dishes..this one is awesome,will surely give this a try..

    Like

  18. An Open Book
    June 16, 2011

    gosh deep fried brea..now thats something i dont mind now 🙂

    Like

  19. wow, I am going to cherish your BM entries. This is such a new recipe for me. Bookmarked. Can I not egg? Is there anything I can increase or replace egg with?

    Like

  20. Mélange
    June 16, 2011

    Priya,I think you may add some yogurt (not sour) and see.wish you all success.

    Like

  21. Mélange
    June 16, 2011

    @Valli & harini,plz see it this works.Add 2 tsp yogurt (not sour)while making dough instead of egg.

    Like

  22. Sunanda
    June 16, 2011

    As its name its royal looks make s me feel hungry dear..
    Sunanda's Kitchen

    Like

  23. Sobha Shyam
    June 16, 2011

    this looks delicious dear, new to me..yummy n lovely naan

    Like

  24. aipi
    June 16, 2011

    I can happily live on these? Fried bread = BLISS 😀
    I will look forward to all your Delhi specialities 🙂
    US Masala

    Like

  25. kothiyavunu.com
    June 16, 2011

    So delicious!! For great naan fan like me, this dish sure will please the palates!! Great click 🙂

    Like

  26. rekhas kitchen
    June 17, 2011

    OMG recipes from Delhi the I have to bookmark every day.. Badshahi naan interesting and looks great bookmarked will try and let you know.

    Like

  27. Suma Gandlur
    June 17, 2011

    Very interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2011 by in Blogging Marathon, Delhi Food, Paratha/Indian Bread.

Categories

