Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Bonda / Urulakkizhangu Bonda / Aloo Bonda !

Bonda was my childhood favourite.We had a small shop at our place where they had hot bondas with spicy potato masala inside.It was divine and my Daddy used to buy me those.Bonda is a nostalgia,to remember and cherish.Here I am presenting you bonda with a spicy potato filling.The masala definitely is very homely which I have spiced up to suit our taste.

Days are moving so fast that we reached fifth day of Blogging Marathon.Do check my fellow Marathoners for  a better experience.Now,on to the recipe..

Ingredients
2 medium sized potatoes,boiled,peeled and mashed roughly
1 medium onion,chopped
1 tsp chopped ginger
1 tsp chopped garlic
1 green chilly,chopped
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
pinch of turmeric powder
1/2 tsp chilly powder
1/4 tsp garam masala
2 sprig curry leaves
salt
oil,as needed

For batter
1 cup gram flour/kadala mavu
pinch of turmeric
1 tsp corn flour
salt
3/4 cup water (approx)

Method

Heat oil in a medium skillet and splutter mustard seeds and curry leaves.Throw ginger,garlic and green chilly.Fry for a minute and add chopped onion.Roast till light brown and add all powders reducing heat level.Mix in the mashed potato and mix well till the spices are wrapped over potatoes.Switch off and allow it to cool.

Meanwhile prepare the batter mixing all the ingredients mentioned in the section.Batter should be of medium consistency.

Heat oil in a heavy bottomed skillet and heat oil.The heat should be minimum.Now make balls of your interest and dip it in the batter.

Fry both sides in oil till golden..Serve hot with chutney or sauce.

29 comments on “Bonda / Urulakkizhangu Bonda / Aloo Bonda !

  1. Torviewtoronto
    June 27, 2011

    delicious looking snack

    Like

  2. Suja
    June 27, 2011

    Perfect batter consistency,delicious looking snack..love it,makes me nostalgic..college canteen and friends:)

    Like

  3. Balachandran V
    June 27, 2011

    BONDA!!! URULAKIZHANGU BONDAA!! Why childhood, it is my all time favorite! Melange, is there anyway I can eat it right off your post? I want a Bonda right now!

    Melange, I have been following your post religiously, fanatically religiously, though I am at a loss for words because my mouth is watering all the time. But Bonda made me spill it out. I like them hot, I like them cold. That bite into the piece of ginger! That piece of chilli!OOOOOOOHHHH!!

    I am saving up your recipes for a rainy day. My friend Anil said he tried your chicken ( I forgot which) and said it was too good.

    But looking at Bonda at this time of night! This is sheer torture!

    Like

  4. aipi
    June 27, 2011

    Wow! that looks fantastic ~ very nice color and looks crispy too,done just right. I could eat a whole plate-full:)
    US Masala

    Like

  5. Authenticoriyafood
    June 27, 2011

    Yummy!! Plz pass on a plate….

    Like

  6. Malar Gandhi
    June 27, 2011

    Perfect evening munch, loved the aloo filling-bit spicy like yours.

    I loved ur jilebi recipe too, what a beautiful work.

    Please trail to find my latest updates at my new blog, part II – http://www.kitchen-mantra.blogspot.com.

    Like

  7. Suma Gandlur
    June 27, 2011

    Love these bondas any time!

    Like

  8. ente pachakasala
    June 27, 2011

    look crispy n delicious n jalebi also looks so yummy

    Like

  9. Sobha Shyam
    June 27, 2011

    lovely and yummy snack, perfect bondas, love them with a hot cup of coffee…

    Like

  10. savitha ramesh
    June 27, 2011

    aloo bonda looks perfect.
    Vegie / Fruit a month – Orange

    Like

  11. Swathi
    June 27, 2011

    Urulakkizhangu bonda adipoli, ente favorite annu.

    Like

  12. harini-jaya
    June 27, 2011

    perfect snack for the rainy day!!

    Like

  13. Drooling over your filling dear, amazing and delicious.

    Like

  14. vaishali sabnani
    June 28, 2011

    perfect recipe…can u bel i make this ditto..exception of onion..n they turn out super super yum!!

    Like

  15. Vardhini
    June 28, 2011

    Lovely bondas .. love them anytime. I have started using the pancake puff pan to have guilt free bondas these days 🙂

    Vardhini
    Event: Dish it Out – Spinach and Garlic
    Event: Healthy Lunchbox Ideas – Broccoli

    Like

  16. Cool Lassi(e)
    June 28, 2011

    Bonda is my childhood favorite too!My mom used to make vegetable and other bondas. I feel nostalgic looking at this!

    Like

  17. Aarthi
    June 28, 2011

    i love this one

    Like

  18. PJ
    June 28, 2011

    Perfect snack with coffee. Very tempting indeed…

    Like

  19. Jayashree
    June 28, 2011

    Bondas have come out very well.

    Like

  20. Juxtaposition
    June 28, 2011

    MY GOD! These look so yummy! Bondas are my favourite too. There was this shop right in front of our building where they used to make small bondas, but only during Ramadan. It was too delicious.

    I am definitely trying this. 🙂

    Like

  21. Mom Chef
    June 28, 2011

    looks yummy :)yes, aloo bondas are nostalgic for me too, 🙂

    Cheers
    Kalyani
    Event: One Pot Meals

    Like

  22. Sharmilee! :)
    June 28, 2011

    Wow perfect for tea time…wish I cud grab a few bondas formt he screen..looks so so tempting 🙂

    Like

  23. Prathibha
    June 28, 2011

    such a delicious looking bonda..looks yumm..love all d variations

    Like

  24. jayasree
    June 28, 2011

    Urulakizhangu bonda…all time facorite. Perfect for the weather here with a cup of tea.

    Like

  25. Priya
    June 28, 2011

    Am drooling over that tempting aloo bonda,delicious!

    Like

  26. Pavani
    June 28, 2011

    I have some very good memories associated with aloo bondas too. Your's look perfectly done.. Yummy.

    Like

  27. rekhas kitchen
    July 1, 2011

    Aloo bonda my favorite looks so yummm…

    Like

  28. Srivalli
    July 3, 2011

    This is the second aloo bonda I am reading today! And looks so inviting!

    Like

  29. Degchi
    July 4, 2011

    Alu bonda..everyone's all time favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2011 by in Blogging Marathon, kerala food, Kids special, Snacks.

Categories

