Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Omelette for Breakfast !

I never was a breakfast person.During the school days early morning pranks made me skip breakfasts as if it was the only thing I can forget to save time.And then came the hostel years that helped me in a way to keep away from breakfasts blaming the rock-like idlis and upma that make me drowsy..

Being a Mother now, at least to be an honest guide to my daughter,I started having breakfasts.We Keralites are into rice so much that our breakfasts always comprise something like puttu,appam,idiyappam and so on.To me but, just a bowl of porridge,a perfect omelette and some fruits/juice or smoothie will do.I mean that’s my idea of perfect breakfast.For all those who love to have simple and gorgeous breakfasts,here I am with a pretty omelette.

Ingredients

3 egg whites (ignore yolks)
1 small onion, chopped
1 tomato,chopped
1 green chilly chopped
handful of baked beans or grated carrot/cabbage etc
olive oil to spray
salt

Method

In a bowl beat everything together till mixed well.Heat a frying pan and spray olive oil.Pour the egg white mix to this and reduce the heat.Flip it over when one side done.Fry both sides and serve along with porridge and fruits/smoothie.

*You may add anything else like handful of cooked chicken pieces to omelette mix.It’s all your choice.

This Omlette goes to Radhika’s Let’s Cook-Scrumptious Breakfasts Event.


10 comments on “Omelette for Breakfast !

  1. anilkurup
    September 18, 2011

    Dear Friend this has been my subject of research at the University which I founded and I remain the Chancellor for life. Innovations and some ingenuity , especially into things like Omlette, Dosa and chuttney.

    I've tried the similar combo with Dosa calling it spring-roll ha. And was delicious. So this with the due credits to you, I'm going to have for today's morning. Breaking fast with a ingenious omelette. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Balachandran V
    September 18, 2011

    M, finally!

    Cholestrol or not, I cannot ignore the yolk! But I will try your recipe.

    Do check this out: http://mytravelsmylife.blogspot.com/2009/04/secret-of-great-cooking.html

    Like

  3. Aarthi
    September 18, 2011

    This looks delicious….I bet it taste that good…Yummy..Thanks for the recipe dear…

    Like

  4. createwithmom
    September 19, 2011

    flavourful delicious looking omelette

    regards Akheela
    torviewtoronto and createwithmom

    Like

  5. Insignia
    September 19, 2011

    Fluffy and inviting 🙂 Let me try this one 🙂

    Like

  6. Pushpa
    September 19, 2011

    Perfect healthy start to the day.

    Like

  7. anilkurup
    September 19, 2011

    Was a disaster of sorts that I eventually settled for scrambles.
    I guess you did not mention warming up the veggies in the pan to remove the raw taste. Or is it you suggest the raw veggie taste.
    May be I must try this again another morning.

    Like

  8. Mélange
    September 19, 2011

    @Anil,I usually add everything raw sliced finely.I think you might have crowded the omelette with veggies.Select few and few handfuls will do.Now,spray olive oil generously so that it will be easy for you to flip.Unlike the usual omelettes,you have to keep it in law flame for sometime,till the time you can see the edges get apart.Then slowly flip from all sides.Better luck Anil !

    Like

  9. Priya
    September 19, 2011

    Seriously i can have this omelette anytime..

    Like

  10. aipi
    September 19, 2011

    How fluffy n perfect it looks!
    USMasala

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2011 by in Breakfast, Egg.

Categories

