Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Senaikizhangu /Chena /Elephant Yam Kootu !

Elephant Yam is one of my favourite vegetables.I have found it as healthy and the best among tubers.With the unique flavour and rich texture,elephant yam is full of possibilities for any cook.For the people who love to eat healthy,good news is that Ayurveda considers this vegetable as one that offers all goodness to balance the three major demerits of the body !

I have already posted few recipes of chena/elephant yam here,but this one is unique in flavour.Very easy to prepare,this kootu is rich with coconut and pigeon peas.A real melange of flavours !



Ingredients

500 gm yam,peeled ,washed and cut into small pieces
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
half cup tamarind pulp made from lemon sized tamarind and water
1 cup pigeon peas/toor dal
1 sprig curry leaves
handful of coriander leaves to garnish
salt,oil as required

For the coconut paste

1 cup grated coconut
1 tsp kadalapparippu/gram dal
6-7 dry red chillies
pinch of asafoetida

To temper

1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/2 tsp black gram dal/urad dal
1 tbsp grated coconut

Method

Pressure cook the yam pieces adding turmeric powder,salt,tamarind pulp and half cup water.2 whistles will be enough.Yam should be cooked well.Make sure it’s not overcooked .The pieces should be intact.Now pressure cook the toor dal/pigeon peas in half cup water till soft.In a thick bottomed kadai heat the cooked yam mixture adding the ground coconut mixture.Bring this to a boil.Meanwhile heat oil in a small pan and splutter mustard seeds,urad dal and grated coconut till brown.Pour this to the yam mixture.Add the cooked dal to this and mix well.Add the curry leaves and simmer for few minutes.Finally garnish with chopped coriander.Serve with rice.

*Source-Usha Vijayakumar

8 comments on “Senaikizhangu /Chena /Elephant Yam Kootu !

  1. Gopika Ram
    September 22, 2011

    Woww.. this looks so yummy 🙂 Reminds me of the kerala style curry 😀

    Like

  2. Suja
    September 22, 2011

    Yam is my favorite too,lots of flavors here,lovely recipe dear..bookmarked

    Like

  3. Insignia
    September 23, 2011

    I didnt know we could make kootu out of chenai. It was just fries for me. This is new! Should try. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Priya
    September 23, 2011

    Omg, kootu looks super stunning and comforting..

    Like

  5. julie
    September 23, 2011

    lovely flavourful curry..

    Hi dear,
    I have changed my blog's name from TASTY TREAT to ERIVUM PULIYUM
    URL http://erivumpuliyumm.blogspot.com
    Please unfollow the previous URL and follow me on my present URL for my latest updates for your valued suggestions and comments on my post !!Hope you will cooperate..
    Sorry for the inconvenience..
    please ignore if already done..
    Thanx in advance,
    Julie of(was)Tasty Treat now ERIVUM PULIYUM

    Like

  6. Sobha Shyam
    September 23, 2011

    i love yam, this look so delicious, so sad that i get only frozen yam here which I dont like much..

    Like

  7. Now Serving
    September 24, 2011

    wow this looks great – my mom usually made senai chips, but this I must try – IF and WHen I get this veggie here 🙂

    Like

  8. aipi
    September 26, 2011

    A very timely recipe as I have a lot of elephant yam in my pantry desperately needing my attention 🙂
    USMasala

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2011 by in Tamil Cuisine, veg curry.

Categories

