Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Poodina Jeera Paani / Mint & Cumin Drink from Punjab !



Today I am posting here as a blind.With the mess going around with blogger here,I can’t see my pictures.Plz bear with me friends for the poor quality.And below is the post I was supposed to post yesterday for blogging Marathon event.

This is my first post for BM #9.This time I have chosen Regional specials.So for the coming seven days Melange will be showcasing Punjabi dishes.I consider this as an opportunity to go beyond the usual flavours.When it comes to Punjabi food,who can resist them ? The rich and deep flavours penetrating our senses,the royal aroma wafting through the kitchen..It’s all about celebrating food,celebrating life itself.So here I am with my versions of authentic Punjabi khaana.

Poodina Jeera Paani is the most refreshing and healthy drink from Punjab.Since I love the mint flavour,I can finish many glasses in one sitting.Do check this one and tell the whole world that we have some super healthy refreshing drinks here !

Ingredients

1 bunch of mint leaves/poodina
1 piece of ginger (one inch)
3 cups of water
gooseberry sized tamarind soaked in one cup hot water and strained
Juice of two limes
1-2 tbsps of sugar/honey
1/2 tsp black salt/kala namak
1 tsp roasted cumin powder/bhuna jeera
salt

Method

Make a paste poodina/mint leaves and ginger adding little water.In a  large mixing bowl mix the mint paste and tamarind pulp.To this add all the other ingredients and three cups of water.If you again want to mix it in a mixer,that’s a good option too.Serve chilled in glasses.Add ice cubes and decorate with mint leaves.
*Do check the Blogging Marathon page for more details and check what other marathoners are doing !

9 comments on “Poodina Jeera Paani / Mint & Cumin Drink from Punjab !

  1. Priya
    October 17, 2011

    Wow wat a flavourful drink, event i can finish it anytime..glad u can post now…

    Like

  2. Krithi's Kitchen
    October 17, 2011

    Sounds like jaljeera… like it..
    Krithi's Kitchen
    Event: Serve It – Festival Potluck

    Like

  3. Harini
    October 17, 2011

    Sounds interesting! I found Blogger was playing with my space too ..

    Like

  4. Insignia
    October 17, 2011

    Aaahhh refreshing! 🙂

    Seems so close to Jal jeera 🙂

    Like

  5. ANU
    October 17, 2011
  6. Bikramjit
    October 17, 2011

    I like this drink, My mum use to make it when she was here with me in Uk.. I miss it now …

    Bikram's

    Like

  7. alpana
    October 17, 2011

    One of my favourites……surely making it for Diwali. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. Cool Lassi(e)
    October 18, 2011

    That drink looks very refreshing!

    Like

  9. Suma Gandlur
    October 18, 2011

    Interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2011 by in Blogging Marathon, drinks, Punjabi Food.

Categories

