Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Paal Vaazhakka ~ Banana in Coconut milk ~ Dessert from Kerala ~ My Guest post at Krithi’s Kitchen !

This recipe Paal Vaazhakka ,a childhood dessert which has been forgotten for long.After having Che Chuoi, a Vietnamese dessert  I got it back.For all those who are interested to read this one,this is my guest post at Krithi’s Kitchen.I will be updating it here some day though.

Before I go on thanking Krithi here,I may acknowledge this is an overdue.Krithi is a good old food blogger,a nice girl and friend who is there from the initial days of Melange.I would love to hug,a gesture of gratitude and friendship before entering the recipe.


Krithi was particular about me doing something special from Kerala.That’s completely logical.Isn’t it ? Melange being Keralite.But then I thought I will post something really really special here.A re-creation or re-invention from the Past.A childhood favorite of mine,yet forgotten.


I was quite confused and anxious while waiting for my dessert Che Chuoi at a Vietnamese Restaurant.In a way more than expectation.Like many other Vietnam desserts, coconut milk was the main ingredient cooked along with banana and tapioca pearls.That was the description they had with it.Oh no,it struck me  that I have tasted something like that somewhere in the past.I was trying to recollect where and when.Nothing occurred to me till delicious Che Chuoi made it’s appearance.Relishing the first spoonful it was almost instinctive for me to go back.To the fever bed.The smell of fever.This was a special mild sweet prepared during my fever-struck days during childhood.Since I skip my steamed bananas (Nethrappazham as we call in Kerala) often,they were done with a complete make over in this dessert.Infused in coconut milk and cardamom,bananas virtually rock in this dessert.To convert it more healthy,I may suggest to add honey instead of sugar.On to the recipe now.


Ingredients

2 medium sized bananas,cut into medium pieces. (Nethrappazham is better since it offers you kind of sourness too)
2 cups of thin coconut milk
1 cup thick coconut milk
handful of sago/chavvari
1/4 tsp cardamom powder
sugar,as required
pinch of salt
few cashews & raisins to garnish (optional)

Method

Boil thin coconut milk in a sauce pan.Stir in between.When it start boiling add sago and cook in low heat.After 5 minutes add the chopped banana and cook again till sago gets cooked completely and bananas done three fourth.Sprinkle cardamom powder.Pour thick coconut milk and cook in medium heat adding sugar and salt.When it start boiling switch off .You may garnish with cashews and raisins as well.(In Che Chuoi apparent difference is sesame.They garnish it with white sesame which gives it a unique flavour)


31 comments on “Paal Vaazhakka ~ Banana in Coconut milk ~ Dessert from Kerala ~ My Guest post at Krithi’s Kitchen !

  1. Jay
    June 16, 2012

    simply superbbb
    Tasty Appetite

    Like

  2. Chandrani
    June 16, 2012

    Wonderful dessert. Healthy one..

    Cuisine Delights
    My Event-SPOTLIGHT:”Curries/Gravies” .

    Like

  3. Sonali Pradhan
    June 16, 2012

    ohh dear !!!what a fabulous dessert !!!n lovely lovely clicks dear !!!!!

    Like

  4. Ganga Sreekanth
    June 17, 2012

    kothi varunnu, very tempting..nice click!

    Like

  5. PT
    June 17, 2012

    tempting and delicious..

    Like

  6. Shabbu
    June 17, 2012

    looks yummy..
    Shabbu's Tasty Kitchen

    Like

  7. Priya
    June 17, 2012

    JUst saw it at Krithi's space, well done Dear, lovely guest post.

    Like

  8. Kaveri Venkatesh
    June 17, 2012

    Beautiful guest post…Lovely recipe

    Like

  9. Kaveri Venkatesh
    June 17, 2012

    Beautiful guest post…Lovely recipe

    Like

  10. Spice up the Curry
    June 17, 2012

    looks very good. Read the recipe at kirthi's place. sounds amazing

    Like

  11. Bikramjit
    June 18, 2012

    yummy yummmy

    Bikram's

    Like

  12. Julie
    June 18, 2012

    very tempting,never tasted this before..Congrats on your guest post,Dear..:-)

    Ongoing Events at(Erivum Puliyum)-
    1. The Kerala Kitchen(June'12)

    2.EP Series-Basil OR Cardamom

    Like

  13. Shobha
    June 19, 2012

    Never tasted this dessert.. lokks delicious..

    Like

  14. Akila
    June 19, 2012

    Very new n interesting… Amazing clicks

    Like

  15. hemalata
    June 19, 2012

    Delicious dessert, looks so yummy.

    Like

  16. JishasKitchen
    June 20, 2012

    superb dessert…..very tempting!!

    Like

  17. R.Punitha
    June 21, 2012

    Hi Melange ,

    looks Awesome and

    very new to me Melange !!!

    Like

  18. Hema
    June 21, 2012

    A new one to me, looks absolutely delicious..

    Like

  19. Rekha
    June 21, 2012

    this is new to me and looks so yummy..clicks are very attractive:)

    http://indiantastyfoodrecipes.blogspot.com

    Like

  20. looks so divine. love the pics.

    Meg's Delicious Adventures

    Like

  21. R.Punitha
    June 21, 2012

    Hi Melange ,

    One request Melange , in my blog , you have to click cabbage curry URL. It'll go to Lavanya's recipe 's guest post. There you have to drop your comment for my guest post Melange . Thank you , Keep on…

    Like

  22. Priyas Feast
    June 22, 2012

    Yummy pazha payasam..Absolute divine payasam..

    Like

  23. Priya Satheesh
    June 22, 2012

    Never heard this…lovely dessert..looks yummy yummy..Pls collect your awards http://priyasmenu.blogspot.in/2012/06/awards.html

    Like

  24. Swapna Raghu Sanand
    June 23, 2012

    I liked the recipe though I had never heard of this. Since it is summer, I think such light, fluffy dishes would be great to experiment with. Thanks for posting, looking forward to many more.

    Like

  25. Vineetha
    June 24, 2012

    Desset look mouthwatering…yummy !

    Like

  26. Lena Rashmin Raj
    June 25, 2012

    i had heard abt this dessert long back from my neighbour in pune.. bt wen i tried it curdled.. this looks super delicious.. 🙂

    Like

  27. Leelagovind
    June 27, 2012

    tempting and inviting me!

    Like

  28. Rafeeda
    July 1, 2012

    Dear Melange, thank you for making me nostalgic… As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I did have this but when and where was forgotten. This Thursday, I had just one big Nenthrapazham in my pantry, and all other ingredients, so I just went ahead and tried it. As soon as the smell starting wafting in the kitchen, it suddenly struck me – my grandma!!! That is what it smelt of… she passed away to throat cancer 9 years ago (my dad's mom). She used to make this for evening tea, in very thick consistency. Each spoonful I had, I remembered. I will keep making this in the future… Thank you and keep up the good work!!!!

    Like

  29. Padhu
    July 2, 2012

    Looks superb and very nice picture

    Like

  30. Hasna Hamza Layin
    September 4, 2013

    Wow…peeped in here thru rafees blog. Nice pix nd very gud recipes

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2012 by in guest post.

Categories

