Mélange

Of Flavours & Tastes…

Few Books & Alice Medrich’s Hot Chocolate Pudding !

It has now turned almost disturbing to me that I have orphaned this little space of mine.The reality is somewhat appealing though.I had a heap of books to read,or finish reading.The beginning of 2013 gave me enough of them;Indian works.It was such a nice feeling to get lost in them.Preeti Shenoy’s latest ‘The Secret Wishlist’,Meenakshi Reddy Madahavan’s ‘Cold feet’ and my dear blogger friend Balachandran’s ‘Signs of Love’ are few to mention here.Preeti’s books,especially ‘Life is what you make it’ is a kind of feel that’s me where as Meenakshi invites me to a unique world which I am not familiar with.Ahh,but don’t worry I am not going to bore you with my book reading saga.Yet I feel to thank Shri.Balachandran for having written those wonderful lines of life..I love and adore all of them dear friend..for it made me THINK,it made me DREAM and left me with holistic pleasure..Thanks Balachandran. (Those who love to read some of his works,you may visit his Blog-My Travels,My Life)

Sometimes,we feel quite different and amused of what we are going through.Reading Ravinder Singh’s books brought back something I missed in reading for a decade now.It’s probably a bitter confession that I couldn’t sail through more than one chapter of any love stories. I found it unrealistic and boring after few paragraphs always.But these books I don’t know, have a ‘soul’ somewhere though I am yet to find something very ‘valuable’ reading them.A pleasant reading time-that was Ravinder Singh.But Ashok Banker,you have entered my list..I loved the way you made it.I hope I can write something about you once..You have gifted me almost a thirty days pensive time.Thanks to you as well.Ohh,how can I ever forget Amish here ? In fact,I was kind of eagerly waiting  for March to have his last of the series in Shiva Triology – The Oath of the Vayuputhras. I am fascinated over his tremendously compelling narrative style.I had a precious time reading all his three books.

Having said all these I hope I didn’t forget what’s my task in hand.

If you happen to be at David Lebovitz’ blog,this pudding will be familiar to you as well.I am a huge fan of David and so of his recipes.This one is Alice Medrich’s recipe which he copiously shared with us.From what he amended at his blog,I have come up with my version which absolutely suited my tastes..Over to the recipe dear reader..

Recipe Source : David Lebovitz

Ingredients

Yields 4 servings

40 gm unsalted butter
80 gm semi-sweet chocolate,chopped (you may go for bitter sweet if you prefer)
2 eggs
3 tbsp sugar
pinch of salt

Method

Preheat the oven to 190 degree.Prepare four ramekins or baking bowls and keep ready.Bring the butter and chocolate in a medium sized bowl and place it over a pan of simmering water (double boil).Keep on stirring gently till it’s soft.In another bowl whip the eggs,sugar and salt till foamy.This may take 4-5 minutes depending on how you are whipping.Now bring one third of this egg mixture to the chocolate and mix with a spatula after which you can scrape all these over the remaining egg mixture.Fold till everything is mixed in properly.Shift this equally to the prepared ramekins.Be careful not to go beyond 3/4 of the ramekin size.Bake 15-20 minutes or till a tester inserted comes out with some soft,’gooey’ chocolate sticked to it (this is how David describes it…).Serve hot with Ice-Cream.

21 comments on “Few Books & Alice Medrich’s Hot Chocolate Pudding !

  1. Gauri
    March 5, 2013

    That's a good number of books you have been reading :)its good to take a break and do something different.
    I am a huge fan of David, I have tried 2 of his recipes and they came out perfect. This pudding looks so easy, I have ramekins which are still covered in their plastic covers.. looks like its time I used them 🙂

    Like

  2. Rafeeda AR
    March 5, 2013

    that looks really amazing… especially the sunken centre… i'm really tempted to go ahead and make it now itself considering that i have vrything in stock… hmmm…

    Like

  3. Julie
    March 5, 2013

    Tempting pudding dear,kids will surely love it!!
    Participate & win e gift vouchers in Flavors Of Cuisines-“Chinese”

    Like

  4. Suja Manoj
    March 5, 2013

    It is good to take a break and get the mind relax,glad you enjoyed your time reading..pudding looks divine,love the recipe,will surely try this.

    Like

  5. Vidya Chandrahas
    March 5, 2013

    Awesome pudding…really mouthwatering.

    Like

  6. Swathi Iyer
    March 5, 2013

    Delicious pudding love the chocolate.

    Like

  7. Puja
    March 6, 2013

    You got my chocolate craving going. Decadent dessert!

    Puja

    Like

  8. divya
    March 6, 2013

    Totally drooling here !!! This looks amazing 🙂

    Like

  9. Shweta
    March 6, 2013

    this is so yummy..Come and participate in my event- Mela/Carnival Food
    http://www.merrytummy.blogspot.co.uk/2013/03/march-event-announcement-favorite.html

    Like

  10. Priya
    March 6, 2013

    Stunning and super tempting pudding, looks simply beautiful and gorgeous.oh gosh beautiful books,have to start reading..

    Like

  11. PT
    March 6, 2013

    wow chocolate pudding looks yumm 🙂

    Like

  12. Rani's gourmet
    March 8, 2013

    simple delicious pudding..

    Like

  13. Insignia
    March 9, 2013

    Its so so tempting. Now from where do i order this, I can't definitely make them at home. I lack skill.

    Like

  14. Divya Pramil
    March 9, 2013

    That looks so yummilicious 🙂 Nice clicks too 🙂

    Like

  15. Balachandran V
    March 9, 2013

    It would take some superhuman effort to choose poetry over pudding! 🙂 But thanks for enjoying my book and spreading the good word!

    I'd be happy if you could find time to read a recent poem of mine. It sort of sums up my philosophy.
    http://mytravelsmylife.blogspot.in/2013/01/the-flowering-tree.html

    Like

  16. Vikis Kitchen
    March 9, 2013

    Very nice pudding. Irresistible photo….yummy!

    Like

  17. Rinku Naveen
    March 10, 2013

    Tempting pudding. Bookmarked!

    Like

  18. Hema
    March 18, 2013

    Wow, so very tempting, with the ice cream and all..

    Like

  19. Apu
    March 26, 2013

    That just looks too tempting!! First time here – wonderful blog:) Hope you will join me at my blog for a food event and giveaway: http://annarasaessenceoffood.blogspot.com/2013/03/food-event-your-favourite-street-food.html

    Like

  20. Navaneetham Krishnan
    March 28, 2013

    Sometimes its a struggle too for me to update my blog. With many other things in my plate, time is a factor. Btw, its a lovey chocolate dish and really tempting. Though I am not a big fan of desserts, I love to admire and applause those who can come up with such gorgeous ones.

    Like

  21. Nilu A
    April 5, 2013

    This looks so good and amazing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2013 by in Chocolate, Dessert, Hot from my Oven, Sweets.

Categories

